Club History

The Club was founded in June 1975, thanks to the efforts of Peter O'Brien, Francis Coveney, Julian Richardson and Pete Whatnell; with a side and fixture list being arranged for the forthcoming season.

Based at the school for the first two years a reputation was quickly established and in 1977 The Club was officially affiliated to the RFU. Campion in those days was the only club whose performances relied upon the abilities of those spectators and passers by who could be persuaded to make up the numbers.

Finding the bogey pitches of Campion not conducive to the open style of play that was developing, the club transferred to council pitches in Brentwood. Finally in 1983 negotiations were started to take over Cottons Park.

In February 1985 The Club moved into the clubhouse at Cottons and began to pull it down. The official opening of the new clubhouse was celebrated with the 10th anniversary of The Club on 4th October 1987. We joined the leagues in 1988 season and since then we have been promoted 5 times and been relegated only once.

Other notable performances have included winning the plate at Twickenham at the Middlesex sevens, Essex Cup winners 2002, League Champions 5 times (including season 2003/04 London 3 North East Winners, and going unbeaten for the 2010/11 season), Eastern Counties Merit Table Winners , Essex 7's Winners (twice) and Harlow Sevens winners.

A few famous players have also graced the fields of Campion.

Players of note:
Damian Cronin (Wasps, Scotland, British & Irish Lions)
Darren O'Leary (Harlequins, England A)
Dan Dooley (Saracens, Ireland A)

Other notable Campion Old Boys still waiting to grace the fields of the Club:
Tony Diprose (Harlequins, England, British & Irish Lions)
Danny Zaltzman (Leicester Tigers)
Kevin Sorrell (Saracens, England)
John Rudd (Wasps, Northampton, Newcastle, London Irish)
Jon Skurr (Bradford Bulls)
Matt Garvey (London Irish)
Ben Bolger (Harlequins RL)